• en English

Staff

Administration

Ryan Vann : Principal

Ryan Vann

Principal

ryan.vann@polk-fl.net
Ryan Vann graduated from Lake Gibson High in 1997 and is proud to be a product of the Polk County Public Schools system. Ryan grew up in North Lakeland while attending area elementary and middle schools. Mr. Vann received a Bachelor of Science degree in Social Studies Education, Secondary Education (2003) and Master of Science degree in Educational Leadership from Nova Southeastern University (2008). Mr. Vann began his career with Polk County Public Schools in 2000, as a Physical Education paraprofessional. He began his teaching career in 2003, at Lake Gibson High School as a Social Studies teacher. He has also served as a Dean of Students, Athletic Director, and Assistant Principal of Curriculum. Mr. Vann was appointed Principal of Lake Gibson High School in September of 2016.
Elizabeth Deshazor : Assistant Principal of Curriculum

Elizabeth Deshazor

Assistant Principal of Curriculum

elizabeth.deshazor@polk-fl.net
Elizabeth DeShazor began her educational career with the Polk County School District in 2002.  Her background is in Elementary Education and she taught at Socrum Elementary for 5 years.  Mrs. DeShazor accepted a position at Lake Gibson High School, as a Dean of Students in 2007 and in 2016, she became an Assistant Principal. Mrs. DeShazor graduated from Lake Gibson High School.  She earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Elementary Education from Florida Southern College.  Then, earned her Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership from University of South Florida.  She is originally from Long Island, New York. Mrs. DeShazor believes with hard work and perseverance that we can reach every student.  The key to success is working hard and keeping students actively engaged at all times in and out of the classroom.  She is available to help you and your child with any questions and/or concerns you may have.   Mrs. DeShazor is fluent in Spanish.  If you need assistance, please feel free to email her at Elizabeth.deshazor@polk-fl.net.
Matt Diaz : Assistant Principal

Matt Diaz

Assistant Principal

matthew.diaz@polk-fl.net
Matt Diaz was born in New York City and moved to the north Lakeland area when he was 6.  He attended Padgett Elementary, Wendall Watson Elementary, and Lake Gibson Middle.  Diaz graduated from Lake Gibson High School in 1999.  He played baseball for Polk State College where he earned his Associates in Arts degree in 2001. Diaz then played baseball at Warner Southern University where he received a Bachelor of Science degree in Social Studies Education (2004).  Diaz began his career with Polk County Public Schools in 2004, as a Social Studies teacher and taught in the classroom for 7 years at Lake Gibson High School.  He went on to earn his Masters of Science degree in Educational Leadership from Nova Southeastern University (2009).   Diaz then became dean of students and served as Athletic Director at LGHS for 5 years. He also coached baseball at LGHS for 14 years and was the Head Coach in 2012. Diaz was named as Assistant Principal II in 2017.
Debbie Donahay : Assistant Principal

Debbie Donahay

Assistant Principal

debbie.donahay@polk-fl.net
Debbie Donahay graduated from Kathleen High School in 1977.  While there, she was a true athletic standout playing the following sports:  basketball, volleyball and was on the dive team.  After high school, she received an athletic scholarship from Polk Community College in Women’s Volleyball, where she played for two years and attained her AA degree.  While in her second year of college, she married Bob Donahay, and they recently celebrated their 40th anniversary.  Debbie transferred to Florida Southern College and played softball for two years, declining to play basketball to focus on her degree.   In 1981, she graduated with a Bachelor Science degree in Physical Education, K-12.  In 1997, she earned a Master of Science degree in Educational Leadership from Nova Southeastern University, this was after years of teaching and having three children.  Mrs. Donahay began her teaching career in 1981 as a Physical Education teacher.  She has coached numerous sports which included:  volleyball, basketball, track, tennis and cheerleading at Bartow Middle School and later at Lake Gibson High School.  Debbie move from a teaching position to Dean of Students, and has held her current position of Assistant Principal since 2001.  Mrs. Donahay first arrived at Lake Gibson High School in 1981, where she was a student intern, and then return permanently in 1988 and has been a proud Brave for the last 30 years.
Summer Fisher : Assistant Principal

Summer Fisher

Assistant Principal

summer.fisher@polk-fl.net
Summer Fisher graduated with a bachelor’s degree in English Literature and holds a Masters in Educational Leadership from the University of South Florida. In 2008, she began her teaching career at McLaughlin Middle School where she taught Intensive Reading classes and later went on to George Jenkins High School’s Freshmen Academy where she taught both Intensive Reading and Language Arts. In 2013, she was appointed the Literacy Coach position and, in 2016, the assistant principal position at Tenoroc High School. Ms. Fisher continues her work as an assistant principal here at Lake Gibson High School and is very proud to be part of the Braves family!
Brent Jorge : Dean of Students

Brent Jorge

Dean of Students

brent.jorge@polk-fl.net
Brent Jorge was born and raised in Lakeland, Florida while attending Lincoln Avenue Academy, Lawton Chiles, and graduated from Lake Gibson High School in 2009. Jorge attended Campbell University on a wrestling scholarship where he graduated with his bachelor’s in social science with a teacher licensure in 2014. He then went on to earning his master’s degree in Educational Leadership through The American College of Education. Jorge knew he wanted to come back home to Lake Gibson and give back to the community that has given so much to him. Since the start of his teaching career here at Lake Gibson in 2014, Jorge has taught AP Human Geography, AP World History, World History, psychology, Economics, and US Government while being the assistant wrestling coach. Mr. Jorge moved into the role of Dean of Students in 2019.
David Ulch : Dean of Students

David Ulch

Dean of Students

david.ulch@polk-fl.net
David Ulch graduated from Lincoln Park High School in Lincoln Park, Michigan before enlisting into the United States Marine Corps in 2004 as an infantry Marine. After the Marine Corps, he moved to Tampa, Florida and graduated from the University of South Florida with a bachelor’s degree in Social Science Education. In 2012, he began his teaching career at Lake Gibson High School teaching subjects such as AP Macroeconomics, U.S. History, American Government, and Holocaust Studies over the next 7 years. While teaching, he earned his Masters from the American College of Education in Educational Leadership and became a dean during the 2018-2019 school year.

Faculty

Select the group name in the left column to see faculty members of that group.

 

Marcia Gray : Cafeteria Manager

Marcia Gray

Cafeteria Manager

marcia.gray@polk-fl.net

William Elliott : Network Manager

William Elliott

Network Manager

william.elliott@polk-fl.net
Nicole Ounan : Testing Coordinator

Nicole Ounan

Testing Coordinator

nicole.ounan@polk-fl.net

Tocashamara Bennett :

Tocashamara Bennett

tocashamara.bennett@polk-fl.net

Hamilton Castrillon :

Hamilton Castrillon

hamilton.castrillon@polk-fl.net
Laurie Johnson : French

Laurie Johnson

French

laurie.johnson@polk-fl.net
Natalie McSwain : Spanish

Natalie McSwain

Spanish

natalie.mcswain@polk-fl.net

Dawn Anspaugh : Guidance Counselor (F - L)

Dawn Anspaugh

Guidance Counselor (F - L)

dawn.anspaugh@polk-fl.net
Gloria Greer : Guidance Counselor (A - E)

Gloria Greer

Guidance Counselor (A - E)

Gloria.Greer@polk-fl.net
Fabriene Jones : Guidance Counselor (10th Grade M - Q) (9th Grade L-Q)

Fabriene Jones

Guidance Counselor (10th Grade M - Q) (9th Grade L-Q)

Fabriene.Jones@polk-fl.net
Natalie Minchew : Guidance Counselor (R - Z)

Natalie Minchew

Guidance Counselor (R - Z)

natalie.minchew@polk-fl.net
Regina Williams : Guidance Counselor (9th Grade)

Regina Williams

Guidance Counselor (9th Grade)

regina.williams@polk-fl.net

Joanne Mitchell : Reading

Joanne Mitchell

Reading

joanne.mitchell@polk-fl.net
Alexandria Paxia :

Alexandria Paxia

alexandra.paxia@polk-fl.net
Rebecca Timmons :

Rebecca Timmons

rebecca.timmons@polk-fl.net
Kathryn Yopp :

Kathryn Yopp

Gregory Burdick :

Gregory Burdick

gregory.burdick@polk-fl.net
Matthew Collier :

Matthew Collier

Matthew.collier@polk-fl.net
Michelle Dinwiddie :

Michelle Dinwiddie

michelle.dinwiddie@polk-fl.net
Melissa Freeman-Gray :

Melissa Freeman-Gray

melissa.freeman-gray@polk-fl.net
Shalisa Muehlberger :

Shalisa Muehlberger

shalisa.muehlberger@polk-fl.net
Scott Cunningham :

Scott Cunningham

scott.cunningham@polk-fl.net
Sarah Whitaker : Literacy Coach

Sarah Whitaker

Literacy Coach

sarah.whitaker@polk-fl.net

Heather Johnson-Smith : Dean’s Secretary

Heather Johnson-Smith

Dean’s Secretary

heather.johnson-smit@polk-fl.net
Diana Oxford : Main Office Secretary

Diana Oxford

Main Office Secretary

diana.oxford@polk-fl.net
Gretchen Blume : Financial Secretary

Gretchen Blume

Financial Secretary

gretchen.blume@polk-fl.net
Soraida Figueroa : Attendance Secretary

Soraida Figueroa

Attendance Secretary

soraida.figueroa@polk-fl.net
Anthony Frese : Resource Office

Anthony Frese

Resource Office

anthony.frese@polk-fl.net
Carol Lutter : Terminal Operator

Carol Lutter

Terminal Operator

carol.lutter@polk-fl.net
Judy Rundle : Principal’s Secretary

Judy Rundle

Principal’s Secretary

judy.rundle@polk-fl.net
Terry Salerno : Athletic Secretary

Terry Salerno

Athletic Secretary

terry.salerno@polk-fl.net

Robert Paxia : PE Teacher & Head Football Coach

Robert Paxia

PE Teacher & Head Football Coach

robert.paxia@polk-fl.net
Jessica Hopkins :

Jessica Hopkins

jessica.hopkins@polk-fl.net
Michelle McElwaney :

Michelle McElwaney

michelle.mcelwaney@polk-fl.net

Gino Brown :

Gino Brown

Shawn Phelps : ROTC

Shawn Phelps

ROTC

shawn.phelps@polk-fl.net

Ianne Clervil :

Ianne Clervil

Anthony Desandolo :

Anthony Desandolo

Valerie  Phillips :

Valerie Phillips

valerie.phillips@polk-fl.net
Betty Williams :

Betty Williams

Brandi Johnston : School Nurse

Brandi Johnston

School Nurse

brandi.johnston@polk-fl.net
Valerie Phillips :

Valerie Phillips

valerie.phillips@polk-fl.net

Paige Testerman :

Paige Testerman

paige.testerman@polk-fl.net